You can create and edit multiple receipt templates, but only use one template with each outlet.
Should you decide to delete the template, it will not affect sales history, but it will not be available for future receipts.
Note, you can add a Receipt Template, and delete the same Template, but you can not delete the Default Receipt Template.
DELETE RECEIPT TEMPLATE
From the Receipt templates section, click on the Template name of the receipt you wish to delete.
Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the DELETE THIS RECEIPT button.
This will permanently delete the template.
You cannot recover the template, but you can create a new template with the same settings.